top of page
  • Writer's pictureBay Area Society of Homebrewers

June 2024 Meeting Minutes

Dave and Kathy Clark hosted the June 2024 B.A.S.H. meeting AND POOL PARTY on Sunday the 9th at their home in Corpus Christi.

President Jack Heim called the meeting to order and thanked our hosts.

In his secretary’s report, Wild Bill Lehfeld reviewed upcoming meeting hosts and competitions. Our tally of brewing volume for May 2024 was as follows: Big Brew – 14 gallons, John Fulton – 5 gallons, Wild Bill – 2.5 gallons, Jason Fransham -- 4 gallons. YTD totals for 2024: Chris Ackman – 2 gallons, Vic Aguilar– 10 gallons, Will Amaya -- 15 gallons, Big Brew – 14 gallons, Jason – 13 gallons, John – 10.5 gallons, Mike Kneale/Paul Froeschner – 13 gallons, Wild Bill – 12.5 gallons, Tom Ormrod – 10 gallons, Jay Porterfield – 5 gallons. Total for 2024 = 105 gallons (452 gallons beer and mead in 2023).

We nominated and approved officers for fiscal year 2025, with one change from 2024 -- Vic Aguilar to become president.

The competition this month was open to any style, with Blonde Ale and American Pale Ale (BJCP 18A/B) receiving double Homebrewer of the Year points. With two competitors, 1st place earns 2 HBOY points (doubled for Blonde Ale/American Pale Ale) and 2nd place earns 1 HBOY point (doubled for Blonde Ale/American Pale Ale). 3rd place and beyond earn 0 points. Results are as follows:

  1. Jason – Blonde Ale (BJCP 18A) – 34.25/50, 4 HBOY points

  2. Wild Bill – American Pale Ale (BJCP 18B) – 30.75/50, 2 HBOY points

  3. Jason – American Pale Ale (BJCP 18B) – 30/50, 0 HBOY points

  4. Wild Bill – American Pale Ale (BJCP 18B) – 28.25/50, 0 HBOY points

After 6 of 6 competitions in the 2024 competition year, cumulative results are as follows:

  1. Wild Bill Lehfeld – 24.5 HBOY points

  2. Jason Fransham – 19.5 HBOY points

  3. Chris Ackman – 8 HBOY points

  4. John Fulton – 2 HBOY points

  5. Andy Vaughn – 0 HBOY points

  6. Jay Porterfield – 0 HBOY points

  7. Dave/Kathy Clark – 0 HBOY points

  8. Jay/Doug Funk – 0 HBOY points

Wild Bill Lehfeld is thus Homebrewer of the Year.

As we enjoyed burgers and brats, we drank Big Brews, competition beers and older homebrews. Interesting commercial beers were provided by Vic (Saint Arnold Tarnation/Lone Pint Zy-Tho-Phile SMASH IPA), Jason (Migrating Coconut Imperial Porter/Southern Star SMASH IPA), John (Sierra Nevada Torpedo), Rusty Keyes (Karbach Hopadillo IPA), Mark Marshall (Parish Original Pilsner/Greetings From The Land Mass/Ghost In The Machine Ale) and Tom Ormrod (Sierra Nevada Atomic Torpedo/Real Ale Black Quad).

The pool was refreshing and no skinny dipping was observed.


  • 14-Jul-24: B.A.S.H. meeting (B&J’s Pizza on Staples at Timbergate, hosted by Wild Bill Lehfeld)

  • 11-Aug-24: B.A.S.H. meeting (Walt/Judy Crawford, competition: American IPA/Specialty IPA/Hazy IPA, BJCP 21A-C)

  • 8-Sep-24: B.A.S.H. meeting (Mark Woerner)

  • 13-Oct-24: B.A.S.H. meeting (Jeff/Kelly Coe, competition: Festbier, BJCP 4B)

  • 2-Nov-24: Iron Mash XXI (Lazy Beach Brewing?)

  • 10-Nov-24: B.A.S.H. meeting (need host, competition: American Porter/English Porter/Pre-Prohibition Porter, BJCP 20A/13C/27)

  • 8-Dec-24: B.A.S.H. meeting (Andy/Cathy Vaughn)

Thanks again Dave and Kathy, keep on brewin’ and we’ll see you at B&J’s Pizza!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

July 2024 Meeting Minutes

Wild Bill Lehfeld hosted the July, 2024 B.A.S.H. meeting on Sunday the 14th at B&J’s Pizza on Staples at Timbergate. Incoming president Vic Aguilar called the meeting to order and welcomed new members

May 2024 Meeting Minutes

Will and Diedra Amaya hosted the May 2024 B.A.S.H. meeting on Sunday the 19th at their Bay Area Brewing in Rockport. President Jack Heim called the meeting to order, thanked our hosts and welcomed new

April 2024 Meeting Minutes

Tim Grace and Mary Kay Schultz hosted the April 2024 B.A.S.H. meeting on Sunday the 14th at their condo in downtown Corpus Christi. President Jack Heim called the meeting to order, thanked our hosts a


bottom of page